Lark in the Clear Air

Those familiar with traditional Irish music would know this well-known song, “Lark in the Clear Air”.  I prefer the rendtion by the incomparable Cara Dillon on her CD, Cara Dillion.   The lyrics are attributed to Samuel Ferguson, circa 1850.

Between poems, I’ve gotten in the habit of carving woodcuts to illustrate either my own poems or my favorite ones.  This time, I carved an image of a lark and hand printed it using a baren.  I then reduced the print and used it to illustrate the song.  A copy can be obtained at PoeticExpressions.

This entry was posted in Music, Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

