Robert Burn’s “My Heart’s in the Highlands”

  • Robert Burn’s “My Heart’s in the Highlands”

    Just finished carving this woodcut of a simple line representation of a view of the hills of the Highlands and hand-printed it using a baren (pictured in upper right corner). Next to it is the roller I use to ink the block. I took the image and reduced it by 45% and used it to illustrate one of my all-time personal favorite Burn’s poem, “My Heart’s in the Highlands”. To get the desirable red for the box surrounding the initial capital, I used a mixture of acrylic paint. A copy can be obtained at www.poeticexpressions.etsy.com.


                       My Heart’s in the Highlands
                                   Robert Burns

Farewell to the Highlands, farewell to the North,
The birth-place of valor, the country of worth!
Wherever I wander, wherever I roam,
The hills of the Highlands for ever I love.

My heart’s in the highlands, my heart is not here,
My heart’s in the highlands a-chasin’ the deer,
A-chasin’ the wild deer and following the roe–
My heart’s in the Highlands wherever I go.

Farewell to the mountains high-covered with snow,
Farewell to the straths and green valleys below,
Farewell to the forests and wild-hanging woods,
Farewell to the torrents and loud-pouring floods!

My heart’s in the highlands, my heart is not here,
My heart’s in the highlands a-chasin’ the deer,
A-chasin’ the wild deer and following the roe–
My heart’s in the Highlands wherever I go.

This entry was posted in Poetry, Woodcut engraving and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

