Sonnet: “Sweet Crofton River”

Composed this sonnet in tribute and remembrance to the river that flows nearby where I live. I have spent many hours walking along its green, grassy banks and have grown quiet fond of it.  Its real name is not very poetically-sounding, so I changed it to Crofton River. I have many photos of the river ( the banner above is another view of the river ) and chose this one to illustrate the sonnet:

                SWEET CROFTON RIVER
I long to stand beside the banks of Crofton,
To hear once again its gentle voice murmuring,
As if in a daydream, the world’s din begins to soften;
Its sweet memory the cause of my heart’s stirring:
Of pine boughs pliant with the wind soughing,
Starlings darting high overhead twittering their thanks,
Far-distant mountains, sentient and all-knowing,
Sparkling waters tumbling between green-bladed banks,
A bee droning drowsily from flower to gay flower,
Honeysuckle-scented wind wafting past my nose,
Wide swaths of plush, verdant, white-headed clover;
Sweeter and more delightful than any city-bought rose.
     Wherever the road may lead me, however far I may roam,
     The ever-flowing waters of Crofton will always beckon me home.

A customized print can be ordered at Fineartamerica.com.

( © Poeticmeditations, 2012. All rights reserved. )

About poeticmeditations

A 19th-century romantic poet trying to get by in the 21st-century.
This entry was posted in art, literature, photography, Poetry, Sonnet and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

