Poem: “Today, I Sent a Flower Down the Stream to You”

“Today, I Sent a Flower Down the Stream to You” © 2012

Wrote this poem and wanted a photo to go along with it, so I picked a wild yellow daisy growing alongside the river, floated it on the water and took a couple of shots.

                Today, I Sent a Flower Down the Stream to You

Today, I sent a flower down the stream to you
Down to the shimmering harbour and beyond the open sea
Hoping it will find its way to wherever you may be.

Throughout each slowly passing day, I often think of you;
Wondering why you had to leave and why you could not stay;
Where Fate had from me on that day had taken you away.

The sun we both had once so loved, I now have come to rue –
Alone I wander aimlessly through empty lea and glen;
All thoughts alone on you abide: what was and might have been.

My heart still overflows with all this love for you,
Mingled now with grief-filled tears that gather like the morning dew;
My life distilled to this one longing: to see you ere the night is through.

So, today I sent a flower down the stream to you,
Down to the shimmering harbour and beyond the open sea,
Hoping it will find its way to wherever you may be.

A customized print can be ordered from Fineartamerica.com.

.

( “Today, I Sent a Flower Down the Stream to You” © Poeticmeditations, 2012. All rights reserved. )

This entry was posted in art, literature, photography, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

