Poem: “The Rival” and Van Dyck’s “Venetia, Lady Digby on Her Deathbed”

“Venetia, Lady Digby, on Her Deathbed” by Anthony van Dyck

When Sir Kenelm Digby’s beloved wife, Venetia, passed away unexpectedly in her sleep, he had the Antwerp artist, Van Dyck come paint her portrait; the result is the painting pictured above. See Guardian article here.

I had just been finishing up this poem about death and the loss of a beloved when the Guardian article came out:

THE RIVAL
It was not a rival’s hand that took my love from me,
For with all my strength I would have striven unceasingly
To try to win her fair hand back – it would not have been in vain.
I would have searched the wide world through to see her once again
And pledged to her from heart sincere, my undying love.

It was Death himself that came – my love away had led
Far beyond the vast expanse separating the living from the dead.
With useless hands down at my sides, that day must I await
When Death himself will come for me and to my love will take.
There I will pledge from heart sincere, my eternal love.

(“The Rival” © Poeticmeditations, 2012. All rights reserved.)

This entry was posted in art, literature, painting, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

