“Butterfly Dreams”

IMG_5858

When the mood strikes, I like to take out my set of watercolors and do a painting of a butterfly. The beauty, color, pattern and symmetry of their wings seems to me the perfect subject for the medium.

BUTTERFLY DREAMS
Now I do not know whether I was then a man dreaming I was a butterfly, or whether I am now a butterfly dreaming I was a man.” Zhuang Zhou

Am I now dreaming I am a butterfly
Floating carefree in the bright summer sun
Over a daisy-scented, verdant meadow?
O, to never again awaken to this harsh reality:
A living nightmare of sorrow, suffering and loss;
To live in this unending realm of butterfly dreams
Where you and I, now parted, can forever be together.

( “Butterfly Dreams” © 2013.  All rights reserved. )


A set of butterfly postcards can be ordered here.

This entry was posted in art, literature, philosophy, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

