Lost

Gustave Dore's illustration from Dante's "Divine Comedy"

Gustave Dore’s illustration from Dante’s Divine Comedy

“Midway upon the journey of our life, I found myself within a dark forest, for the straightforward pathway had been lost.” The Inferno, Dante Alighieri

LOST
Shine your light through the tangled darkness,
Take my hand and lead me safely through the night
For in these dark woods I have lost my way.
No stars above to guide me,
No compass to point true North.

Directionless and rudderless – adrift upon the sea
With no beacon shining from the distant shore.
All I need is one true guide to show the way
For most roads lead to nowhere:
Only one takes you back home.

(PoeticMeditations. All rights reserved.)

About poeticmeditations

A 19th-century romantic poet living in the 21st-century.
This entry was posted in Books, literature, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

