Squirrel Woodblock Print and W.B. Yeats

IMG_1775

Lots of oak trees where I now live, so I often encounter these furry creatures on my walk to the post box. I also see them scampering around the nearby park where I also like to walk. A set of notecards can be ordered from PoeticExpressions.

And now a poem about a squirrel by W.B. Yeats:

THE SQUIRREL AT KYLE-NA-NO

Come play with me;
Why should you run
Through the shaking tree
As though I’d a gun
To strike you dead?
When all I would do
Is to scratch your head
And let you go.

About poeticmeditations

A 19th-century romantic poet trying to get by in the 21st-century.
This entry was posted in literature, Poetry, wooblock print and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

