Original Woodblock Print: Roadrunner

Roadrunner Woodblock Print 5x7 in.

Roadrunner Woodblock Print 5×7 in.

Made more woodblock prints of a roadrunner I had earlier cut to make notecards. This time, I used 140 lb. Canson watercolor paper, Speedball black block printing ink and a brayer. An original print (5×7 in.), double-matted (8×10 in.) can be ordered at Etsy.

About poeticmeditations

A 19th-century romantic poet living in the 21st-century.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Original Woodblock Print: Roadrunner

  1. There’s a really nice feeling making woodblock prints. I haven’t done one since college (I think 28 years ago) but I still remember having a sense of genuine draftsmanship. I was very borud of my bloc. I also remember etching a large zinc plate and all the time it took then inking, rolling and making prints…wonderful…
    I love this print it’s lovely.
    AnnMarie 🙂

    • Thank you so much for your gracious comment. Time seems to slow down a bit and the concentration required seems to help forget about worrying about paying the rent, doesn’t it. A friend I know does linocuts and finds it quite addictive. I hope you will be able to find a bit of time in your life to make woodblock prints again. I would love to see them. Warmest regards. PM

      • You’re welcome. The slowing of time when one gets lost in ‘old world’ techniques like carving bloc is pacifying. I remember digging into linoleum to make lithographic prints too – I enjoyed the way the material peeled like skinning fruit. I do hope one day to get back to some tactile printmaking. If I ever do – the prints will go up on the old blog (assuming my blog is still going 🙂 )
        Again, lovely print you shared.
        AnnMarie 🙂

Leave a Reply

