“Black Friday Madness”

images

Because of Thanksgiving (I guess), PoeticMeditations has once again graciously allowed me to guest post my latest poem for which I am truly thankful. Not only that, I was also graciously invited over for a delicious Thanksgiving dinner for which I am doubly thankful for. Now that I’m stuffed, I’m seriously thinking about changing my nom du plume from “Not Really Struggling Poet” to “Not Really Struggling Stuffed Poet.”

BLACK FRIDAY MADNESS
By Not Really Struggling Stuffed Poet (formerly known as Starving Poet)

Grumbling and cursing, shouting and screamin’
Shoving and pushing to start the holiday season.
Losing one’s mind over insanely low prices.
Violence and greed are just two of many vices.
Queuing up early in the wee hours of the morn.
Once inside, bouncing around like kernels of popped corn.
Grabbed a flat-screen TV – have a bigger one at home.
One fell on top of a shopper and broke an ankle bone.
Don’t even know if I want it, but that’s not the point:
Can’t leave empty-handed after elbowing my way into this joint.
Black Friday marks the start of the season to be greedy.
Forget about the Salvation Army – it’s not about the needy.
Thank goodness for the retailers who want me to spend, Spend, SPEND.
No time to think about peace on earth and good will towards men.
(All rights reserved ©2014)

About poeticmeditations

A 19th-century romantic poet trying to get by in the 21st-century.
This entry was posted in literature, Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

