What Look is This?

WHAT LOOK IS THIS I SEE UPON MY LOVE’S?
By PoeticMeditations

What look is this I see upon my love’s?
What change is this in her sweet demeanor?
Before, her gaze was like a cooing dove’s
Bestowed upon faithful I who serve her.
What is this steely glint now in her eyes?
A touch of winter chill one frosty morn
That without mercy wilts the fleur de lyes.

Before, her fleeting glance was warm and soft –
My blissful days now sullen and forlorn.
Her gracious love, once mine, is held aloft.
So unexpected was this sudden change.
When will this blackest night turn back to day?
If only I  her heart could re-arrange,
For without her love, I have lost my way.

About poeticmeditations

A 19th-century romantic poet trying to get by in the 21st-century.
This entry was posted in Poetry, troubadour and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

