Melancholy

MELANCHOLY
By PoeticMeditations

Late at night, the forlorn wail of a distant train
Calls me back when as a youth on warm summer nights
Abed with the darkness outside the window pane
Dreaming of faraway places with their delights

That lay beyond the four borders of this small town
Of loves that yet await me in the far-off years
Not knowing where my fated destiny was bound
Or if my lot would be fortune or grief and tears

Now I find myself here with all these years flown past
Abed with the darkness outside the window pane
Knowing love, hope, and happiness can never last
Late at night, the forlorn wail of a distant train.

 

About poeticmeditations

The Romantic poets, nib pens, candlelight, waistcoats, and pocket watches are a few of my favorite things.
This entry was posted in literature, Poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment